top of page

 Tobin Earle

Tobin - Earle Played in District 1
Open to both Districts

DATE LIMITE / Closing Date

DATE DE JEU / Dates of Play


Présidente de la compétition / Chairperson 



13 novembre / November 13, 2023 

4 décembre / December 4, 2023

Un lunch sera disponible à vos frais / Lunch to purchase 


Maxine Perra 


Rules and Regulations                                                                                          Printable version


  1. All curlers playing in this event must be a member of a club belonging to the LCA.

  2. Curl Canada rules shall apply, including LCA Amendments.

  3. Entry fee shall be set by the LCA.

  4. All games to be 8 ends.

  5. Unlimited entries. Two games guaranteed.

  6. There are two trophies:  TOBIN and EARLE.                                                                                                                The winners of the first game play in the Tobin event and the losers play in the Earle event.

  7. Winning clubs shall be responsible for returning trophies and carrying cases to the LCA 

  8. Only players in their fifth year of curling or less may enter. Eligibility shall be determined by each club. Curlers who have participated in ten (10) or more games during a curling season have a year's curling experience.  Participation in a Learn to Curl Program or League, which lasts for ten (10) weeks or longer, will count as a year of curling

  9. Composite rinks allowed.  All participants must be a member of a club that is a Member of the LCA.

  10. If no other curler is available because of the restriction on the number of years curled, a player from a team that has been eliminated in the competition may be substituted.



Bonspiel format open to LCA curlers with 5 or less years curling experience. Two games guaranteed. Open to both Districts. Played in District 1. Mrs. Mahoney, Vice-President District 1, reported at Feb. 4, 1962 meeting that Council did not feel Junior Bonspiel should come under jurisdiction of LCA but could proceed outside of the LCA with a special Committee to run it. Accepted in 1967 as an LCA competition, now called the Tobin -Earle.

Tobin Trophy was presented to the LCA by Mr. and Mrs. Leo C. Tobin of Lachine Curling Club in 1963. They felt that the Lady Junior Curlers should have a trophy of their own.

A walnut plaque has been provided with silver shields to be presented to the winning club and the silver tray.

Winners receive pins (gilt)

Runners-up receive pins (silver)

Earle Trophy - Consolation event -  was presented to LCA by Mr. and Mrs. Aubrey Earle of the St. George Curling Club in 1963.

A silver cup on a black base which was replaced by the LCA in 1984.

Winners receive Trophy and pins (gilt)

Runners-up receive pins (silver)

bottom of page