McCallum Filly

              Hamilton Shield

District 1

Closing Date - December 23, 2019 (Centre 6)

                   January 23, 2020 (Centre 1 & 2)

Centre Playdowns - Centre 6 January 12, 2020

                         Glenmore Curling 1:00p.m. & 4:00p.m.

             if needed January 18, 2020

                         Montreal West Curling Club 2:00p.m.

                         Centre 1 & 2 February 3, 2020

                         St. Lambert Curling Club 9:30a.m. & 1:00p.m.

             if needed February 10, 2020 12:30p.m.

                         Baie d'Urfé Curling Club

District Playdowns & Finals (8 ends) - Ormstown Curling Club

Lunch provided for finalists

Chairperson - Patricia "Pat" Birkett

Entry Fee - $60.00

District 2

Closing Date - January 29, 2020

District Playdowns - North Grenville Curling Club

                          February 22, 2020 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m.

District FinalsNorth Grenville Curling Club

                          February 23, 2020 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m.

Chairperson - Susan Johnston                           

Entry Fee - $60.00

Championship - March 1, 2020 - 1:00 p.m. Lacolle Curling Club, Lacolle, QC

Rules and Regulations


  1. All curlers playing in this event must be a member of a club belonging to the LCA

  2. Curl Canada rules shall apply, including LCA Amendments.

  3. Entry fee shall be set by the LCA.

  4. All games are 8 ends except the Championship games between District 1 and District 2 which will be 10 ends

  5. Unlimited entries. Two games guaranteed.

  6. There are two trophies:  McCALLUM FILLY and HAMILTON SHIELD. The winners of the first game play in the McCallum Filly event and the losers play in the Hamilton Shield event.

  7. The Championship Finals will be held alternately in District 1 and District 2.

  8. Winning clubs shall be responsible for returning trophies and carrying cases to the LCA 

  9. Only players in their seventh year of curling or less may enter. Eligibility shall be determined by each club.  Curlers who have participated in 10 or more games during a curling season have a year's curling experience.  Participation in a Learn to Curl Program or League, which lasts for ten (10) weeks or longer, will count as a year of curling

  10. Composite rinks are allowed.  All participants must be a member of a club that is a Member of the LCA.

  11. If no other curler is available because of the restriction on the number of years curled, a player from a team that has been eliminated in the competition may be substituted.



Bonspiel format open to LCA curlers with 7 or less years curling experience. Unlimited entries, composite rinks permitted. Two games guaranteed. Championship finals alternate each year between District 1 and 2.

The McCallum Filly Trophy was presented by Mr. and Mrs. George McCallum of Richmond, Ontario, 1974-75. Played for the first time in April 1975. Edith McCallum was President of LCA in 1974-75. McCallum Filly 1982-83 Plaques presented to all Centre winners in District 1 and 2 (purchased by LCA) 

District Plaques for Winners 1974-75 presented by Edith and George McCallum

District Winner pins horseshoe with red curling stone (gilt)

District Runner-up pins horseshoe with red curling stone (silver)

Championship Winners McCallum Filly Trophy and gilt bar with filly

Championship Runner-up receives LCA silver bar with filly

The Hamilton Shield was presented by Carol (Edith's daughter) and David Hamilton in 1975-76, the second year of the competition. No Centre Plaques.  

District Plaques for Winners (purchased by LCA 1987-88).  

District Winner pins horseshoe with blue curling stone (gilt)

District Runner-up pins horseshoe with blue curling stone (silver)

Championship Winners Hamilton Shield Plaque and gold shield with filly attached

Championship Runners-up receive silver shield with filly attached