top of page

I'm a title. Click here to edit me


I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font. Feel free to drag and drop me anywhere you like on your page. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are.


At Wix we’re passionate about making templates that allow you to build fabulous websites and it’s all thanks to the support and feedback from users like you! Keep up to date with New Releases and what’s Coming Soon in Wixellaneous in Support. Feel free to tell us what you think and give us feedback in the Wix Forum. If you’d like to benefit from a professional designer’s touch, head to the Wix Arena and connect with one of our Wix Pro designers. Or if you need more help you can simply type your questions into the Support Forum and get instant answers. To keep up to date with everything Wix, including tips and things we think are cool, just head to the Wix Blog!

In the 2014-15 season the District 1 Challenge Trophies changed and is now a traditional challenge format.


Birks Double rink entry - 2 rinks - Seniors if possible. 

This replaced the Victory Trophy which was a double rink competition open to Montreal Island Ladies clubs. The Trophy was presented by Henry Birks & Sons in 1945, to be competed for over a ten-year period. Final play commenced on Feb. 22, 1955. St. George Curling Club won the Trophy. Mr. Victor Birks officiated at the presentation ceremonies which included the donation of a handsome new Trophy (a silver tray) to the LCA for the ensuing ten years. Called the Birks Trophy, it was a four-rink competition. Two rinks play on home ice and two rinks on challenger's ice. Playoff was to be in 1965 and only the nine island clubs were eligible to play in this event. This Trophy is still an "Island" competition, but more than nine clubs are included, and it is a double rink event, 10 ends to be played. Birks were kind enough to present a new silver tray in 1966 to be retired in 1976. It was never retired but the tray donated in 1966 was lost in the St. Lambert Curling Club fire January 2002. A replacement tray was donated by the town of Mount Royal Curling Club.


Dudley Kerr Single rink entry - Juniors 

The Dudley Kerr Trophy, a silver tray, was presented to the LCA by Mr. and Mrs. Dudley Kerr of Town of Mount Royal Curling Club in 1958. Started in 1958 ending in 1968, replacing the Harrington Trophy. Originally a two-rink competition for Junior curlers. A new Dudley H. Kerr Trophy (a silver tray) presented in 1968. April 1980 changed to a one-team entry.


Ted Thompson Single rink entry - Seniors 

The Ted Thompson Trophy, a silver tray, was presented to the LCA by Mr. and Mrs. Ted Thompson of St. George Curling Club. This trophy replaced the Reid Trophy which replaced the Whitehead trophy. Started in 1959 ending 1970 (a two-rink competition). A new trophy presented by W.E. Thompson on March 18, 1970 to replace the former trophy. This trophy to be played for by Senior curlers in District 1. In 1980 the tray and shield will become the permanent property of the final winners.


bottom of page